Bannack Best – Fine Art

HDR:

For my HDR photo I set my camera on a tripod and took three photos at different exposures. My camera doesn’t have bracketing, so I had to change the exposure manually. I used Photoshop’s HDR software to merge together the brighter two photos. For the darker image, Photoshop was making the background look kind of muddy in the HDR window, so I masked in the darker image in the background myself. I then added some levels, vibrancy, and curves adjustments..

LeahMcQueen-BarberChairHDR

Three exposure thumbnails:

LeahMcQueen-HDROverexposed LeahMcQueen-HDRRegular LeahMcQueen-HDRUnderExposed

Gray scale:

While taking portraits, I was able to ask the model with the spurs to let me take a close up of the spurs. In Photoshop I added a black and white adjustment layer. I played with the contrast, level, and curves settings to get the spur to stand out more in black and white.

LeahMcQueen-Spur

Other Fine Art:

My editing process for all the following pictures was essentially the same. I used the curves, vibrancy, and levels adjustments in Photoshop on every photo. On some photos I used color match to adjust the colors. Many of the photos have a sharpening mask and most the photos have a vignette added to finish it off.

This wheel barrow photo is one of my favorites from the trip. I really like the way the sky turned out in it. LeahMcQueen-WheelBarrow

Lindsey was kind enough to let me borrow her Viola for a few minutes to take pictures of. I loved how the color of it would pop out where ever I put it. 
LeahMcQueen-Viola

LeahMcQueen-WagonViola

This little globe was a prop that I brought with me. I put it on one of the desks in the school house to get this shot.
LeahMcQueen-Globe

This was the inside of the old piano in the saloon. 
LeahMcQueen-SaloonPiano

These were the boots of the model in the saloon who was sitting on the barber chair.
LeahMcQueen-Boots

 

 

One thought on “Bannack Best – Fine Art

  1. Great compositions and shots Everything looks so crisp and clean. Nice use of natural lighting, are these all hdr, if not great job in taking these images. I also am a great fan of those violin shots, was that yours or did you borrow it from the leaders?

    My blog’s portraits: https://sonnykun.wordpress.com/2015/11/04/bannack/
    Channing’s fine art: https://channingrose.wordpress.com/2015/11/02/bannack-best-fine-art/
    External link: https://www.google.com/search?q=bannack+best&safe=active&es_sm=91&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAmoVChMI1orflZSAyQIV0EuICh2JKw93&biw=1024&bih=529

Leave a Reply

