Depth: Deep and shallow

The depth project was interesting for me in the sense that part of it was difficult and part of it was fun and easy. I think it will be easy to tell that learning about shallow depth was much easier for me than showing deep depth.

Shallow:

I learned during this project that I enjoy shallow photography. Therefore, I have quite a few shallow pictures to show. It’s amazing what you will find in the BYUI gardens. I believe the sprinklers had just turned off when I arrived, so I got lucky with the flowers having tons of water droplets on them. I also found some over cooperative bugs that were more than happy to pose for their picture while I figured out my zoom and aperture to get plenty of bokeh in the photo. Once I figured it out, my process was to zoom out my lens as far as it goes (55mm) and set the aperture as wide as it goes (f/5.6). I then moved the camera closer or farther away from the subject to find a place where it was in focus. In Photoshop I enhanced each photo’s vibrancy and curves setting and increased the sharpness in the focal area.

LeahMcQueen-LadyBug
Title: Lady Bug – 1:14pm October 1, 2015, BYUI gardens – 55mm Focal length –f/5.6 aperture – 1/250 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300
LeahMcQueen-FlowerDrop
Title: Flower Drops – 1:15pm October 1, 2015, BYUI gardens – 55mm Focal length –f/5.6 aperture – 1/160 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300
LeahMcQueen-Moth
Title: Moth – 2:07pm October 1, 2015, BYUI Gardens – 55mm Focal length –f/5.6 aperture – 1/250 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300
LeahMcQueen-PinkFlowers
Title: Pink Flowers – 2:14pm October 1, 2015, BYUI gardens – 55mm Focal length –f/5.6 aperture – 1/60 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300
LeahMcQueen-Pinecone
Title: Pine Cone – 12:25pm September 30, 2015, Bush outside Spori building – 55mm Focal length –f/5.6 aperture – 1/50 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300
LeahMcQueen-FlowerPedal
Title: Flower Pedal – 12:29pm September 30, 2015, In front of Spori waterfall – 55mm Focal length –f/5.6 aperture – 1/500 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300

Deep:

I found deep focus much more difficult to capture than shallow focus. My process for each picture was to set the aperture on a high number in the aperture priority mode. Once I took a photo I thought had the majority of everything in focus (although I think some things still blurred even at the higher aperture), I then took the photos into Photoshop. I sharpened the images and enhanced the colors using the vibrancy and curves features.

This first photo is my favorite of my depth photos. I wanted it to tell a story, so I drew little faces on the little berries that have been falling off trees around campus and made it look like I was squishing one of their friends.

LeahMcQueen-Squished
Title: Squished – 3:00pm October 1, 2015 , Autumn Winds apartment complex – 24mm Focal length –f/22.0 aperture – 1/10 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300

For the next photo, I thought it would be fun to try to make a little fairy house. It didn’t turn out as I hoped, and I also realized when I was editing it that it most likely doesn’t show enough depth. However, I am including it because I still like the concept.

LeahMcQueen-FairyHouse
Title: Fairy House – 1:57pm October 1, 2015 , BYUI Gardens – 40mm Focal length –f/16.0 aperture – 1/15 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300

To make up for the fairy photo, I took this photo of a lamp post. I think the sharp clouds against the post show depth much better than the last photo, even if it isn’t as fun of an idea.

LeahMcQueen-LightPost
Title: Light Post – 12:33pm September 30, 2015 , BYUI outside Spori building – 20mm Focal length –f/22.0 aperture – 1/250 Shutter speed – Camera: Nikon D3300
2 thoughts on “Depth: Deep and shallow

  1. I love this all so much Leah! I am so thoroughly impressed with all the photos you chose for your blog post. You are so talented and your camera looks amazing. I particularly like the pink flower with rain/water dripping down the petals. It looks professional and looks like you really understood the assignment.
    Check out my blog https://chandlerholmes.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

