Photobook Design

photobook

Objective: The purpose of this project was to create a layout for two pages in a photobook that contains at least 5 images (two of which must be large), a title, subtitle, and paragraph of text.

Design process: I began my design by researching photobook designs and sketching out ideas of how to layout my design. I then laid out the photos in InDesign around the diamond or square box the left hand page. After that, I created the box on the right to put in the paragraph of text on the right hand page. I added the angled corner to create repetition with the angles on the left page. Finally, to add more repetition, I added the small colored diamonds across the blue boxes.

Resources:

All the images are my own.

Fonts: Monotype Corsiva and Candara.

2 thoughts on “Photobook Design

  1. Leah, I really liked your photobook layout. I like the way you used the lighting in your pictures, especially the one with the tennis ball and racket. I also liked the way you placed the pictures, I think it compliments them well and the colors mesh really well together. I can’t wait to see more of your pictures. They are really well taken.

    Here is a link to my blog: https://gabygonzalesblog.wordpress.com/

    Also check out Chandler’s blog: https://chandlerholmes.wordpress.com/ who has some really nice nature pictures.

  2. I love your photobook design! I love how vibrant the colors are, and the color scheme that you chose. I really like your use of alignment with the photographs on the left page with the diamond shape. I think that’s really unique! You then kept the unity with the right page with the box around the text with the cut-off corner. I think you did a really splendid job! I also have to say that I love your photographs.
    I found this cool webpage that gives some great tips on making a great photobook! Check it out: http://photography.tutsplus.com/articles/10-top-terrific-tips-on-creating-your-first-photobook–photo-7685

Leave a Reply

