Photography Activity

Light 1: Outside
Light 1: Outside
Light 2: Inside
Light 2: Inside
Focus 1: Foreground
Focus 1: Foreground
Focus 2: Background
Focus 2: Background
Composition 1: Thirds
Composition 1: Thirds
Composition 2: Lead Room
Composition 2: Lead Room

I had a good time learning how to use Photoshop in this project. The first image was by far the hardest to edit because it was a cloudy day, so it was hard trying to get the sky to stand out at all. I did meter the sky when I took the photo, but it was still impossible to see any color in the sky until I brought out as much blue as I possibly could in editing. The second photo was shot on my bed spread near a window with an additional lamp light (since it was cloudy and I couldn’t get a lot of outside light).

As for focus, I took the same photo of a Harry Potter snitch first with focus on the snitch and then with the focus on the grass behind the snitch. I played with the aperture and focal point on my DSLR camera to be able to get the amount of blur I have in these photos.

I found that rule of thirds was extremely hard to find or arrange. I ended up finding these trees that fit on the lines, had branches that cross the top third lines, and had bushes on the lower third line. For the last photo I found some grass and placed the snitch on a thirds line facing the grass so that there was plenty of lead room.

Leave a Reply

